Your weekly check will normally be 2/3 of your average weekly wage. However, there are caps on this. So, if you make more than $750 per week (or $39,000 per year), you will not be able to get 2/3 of your usual weekly wage in workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia. You’ll get $500/week. If that frustrates you, contact your local state legislator about raising the maximum rates.
Certainly, being on workers’ comp disability can be frustrating if $500/week is less than 2/3 of your weekly income. The benefits are not taxed, however. If you have additional questions about Georgia workers’ compensation law, feel free to call Moebes Law, Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyers.