Can I get my medical mileage paid while on workers’ compensation in Georgia?

If your Georgia workers’ compensation claim is compensable, your employer and/or its workers’ compensation insurance company will pay for your medical expenses when traveling to authorized medical providers. This can include the following expenses: mileage (currently $.40/mile) to and from the doctor’s office, physical therapist’s office, and pharmacy parking at the medical providers’ offices meal  … Read more

Can I borrow money from my workers’ compensation attorney in Georgia?

The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation Rules prohibit attorneys from lending money to their clients. Sometimes, unscrupulous attorneys will try to draw clients to their firms with promises of monetary loans or gifts in exchange for signing up to be represented by their firms.  However, this is an ethical breach and is clearly against the governing  … Read more

If I’m getting medical benefits from workers’ comp, do I need an attorney?

If you’re currently on workers’ compensation benefits and are getting medical care through the workers’ comp doctor, please know that the doctor has been chosen by the insurance company with the expectation that you are to be released back to full duty work as quickly as possible for as little cost as possible and with  … Read more

My lawyer waits 3 weeks to call me back, and when he finally does, I’m pretty sure he’s drunk. Should I fire him?

Sadly, you are not the first person to ask me this question and provide me this back story. I’ll tell you what I told the first person whose attorney only returned calls late at night, from a bar, and three weeks after he had left 70 voicemails: fax him a termination letter. It’s okay. Peace  … Read more

I can’t make ends meet on temporary disability benefits. Do I have options?

Certainly, living off of 2/3 your pre-injury wage can be difficult, especially if you used to make more than $750/week and are stuck at the maximum workers’ compensation rate in Georgia of $500/week. There are a couple of options you can employ to try and get some assistance. First, there are several companies that offer  … Read more

The workers’ compensation adjuster just sent me a check for a disability rating. Does this mean my case is settled?

If you’ve been on workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia and/or are treating with a workers’ compensation doctor after your workplace injury, once you reach maximum medical improvement (“MMI”), your doctor may give you a permanent partial disability (“PPD”) rating. This is a percentage based on the American Medical Association (“AMA”) guidelines. The Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act provides formulas  … Read more

I just got a letter saying my workers’ compensation benefits will be cut off. Now what?

Don’t panic just yet. In the past few weeks, I’ve seen several WC-2 filings indicating a client’s workers’ compensation disability benefits were about to be suspended, but the insurance adjuster did something incorrectly, meaning benefits were immediately recommenced (along with some penalties and fees). For example, if the adjuster filed a WC-240 commanding you to  … Read more

My workers’ compensation lawyer says I have a deposition this week. Can I just skip it?

When you file a workers’ compensation claim in Georgia, more than likely, the defense attorney is going to schedule your deposition. It’s your opportunity to answer questions about your injury and its aftermath while showing what a great witness you’ll make at any upcoming hearing. While you may not want to spend a couple of hours  … Read more

Can my spouse get paid as an attendant care provider under Georgia workers’ compensation law?

If you’ve been injured on the job in Georgia and need constant care from someone, why not let that person be your spouse? You know you expect him/her to wear that little nurse outfit on Halloween…what about the other 364 days of the year? While the notion that a spouse can provide attendant care had  … Read more

Should I show up for my Atlanta workers’ compensation hearing without my attorney?

As we’ve already learned, Georgia workers’ compensation hearings are frequently postponed.  What if you’ve received a Notice of Hearing in the mail, and the hearing is a day or two away, but you haven’t heard from your workers’ comp attorney?  Do you show up at the State Board of Workers’ Compensation anyway? No. When I was  … Read more